outfits

A 40s Winter Office Look – A New Twist on an Old Favorite

So, as you may not know, I work in an office most days. While I can get away with some fun pieces on the weekends, I tend to dress pretty conservatively for work. Usually this means a combination of a button down blouse and a skirt, which is my go to look for work. (This is an example of one of my typical looks.) But, especially on colder days, I enjoy wearing this dress, as it is quite cozy. I know that you’ve seen it before in a few different iterations, here and here.

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

But I wanted to show you how I usually style it for work in my office. Since the fabric is quite casual, I like to make it more conservative by adding a button down blouse underneath. This adds a layer of warmth which is needed because of the short sleeves on this dress. It’s also a good way to add a pop of color to an otherwise colorless outfit.

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

My office can get quite cold, especially in the winter, so I try my best to add things to keep me warmer! These aren’t my favorite socks to wear, because they start to fall down when I walk, but they do a great job of keeping my legs warm in the wind! I decided to show off my not so vintage wool coat – which is a staple that I wear on most winter days. It’s a pretty classic cut, and I’m a bit afraid to wear my nice vintage coats to work if there is any chance of wet weather. I love these gloves! The fur is fake, but it keeps the wind from blowing up my sleeve and chilling my arms!

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

While I still struggle with wearing hats on a day to day basis (they feel too much like a costume to me), if I can justify their purpose as useful, I feel less self-conscious. This hat is wool, so it keeps my head warm in the winter. It has been a favorite of mine this past winter because it goes with everything.

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

It’s funny how what really matters to me is not what people actually think about my wearing of vintage, but what I think about it. It has become so second nature to me that I forget that what I’m wearing is strange or different. I think it may become that way for me and hats, eventually.

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

It seems like winter is almost over here in Missouri, which is absurd, because it is still February. But we’ve been enjoying temperatures in the 70s for several days now, and it doesn’t seem like the highs are going to dip much below the 50s in the coming weeks. Soon, I’ll have to transition back to a warm weather wardrobe. I just got used to a cold one!

A 40s Winter Office Look - A New Twist on an Old Favorite

What do you think of my office look?

How do you stay warm in the winter wearing vintage?

Outfit:

Dress: Me-made Butterick 6282

Belt: The Future Antiques

Hat, brooch, blouse, gloves: Thrifted

Coat, scarf,(both old) : JC Penney’s

Shoes: Zulily

Socks: Target

Watch: My grandmother’s

Leave a Reply

