outfits

A Taste of Spring Outfit

We had some amazingly warm weather here this past weekend, and I tried to soak up as much of it as I could. I decided to celebrate by breaking out my flowered things a bit early, but I had to put them up again yesterday, because it dropped down to freezing temperatures. Brr!

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

But for a few days, it was breezy and gorgeous outside! As you can see, I’m still pretty conservative with my colors, even though there are hints of spring in my outfit.

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

I’m pretty sure this skirt is from the 80s, being 100% rayon with real shell buttons. Its colors have stayed so bright! I still want to hem it up a few inches, which would put it just below my knee, a more proper 40’s length.

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

I paired it with a simple white button-down, plus my new to me black sweater. Never underestimate the power of a good basic! It opens up so many more outfit possibilities!

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

I also chose a watering can brooch, to match my floral skirt.  I think it adds the perfect whimsical touch.

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

I  recently picked up this corde clutch, and I am in love with it.  It’s in stellar condition, except that someone has sewn one of the lucite clasps back on with brown thread instead of black! This will have to be remedied, and soon.

A Taste of Spring Retro Styled Outfit

There you have it! A mix of vintage and modern basics all come together in retro style!

Outfit details:

Blouse, Sweater, Skirt, Brooch: Thrifted

Big Bend Antique Gallery: Clutch

Shoes: Bamboo

Socks: Target

2 thoughts on “A Taste of Spring Outfit

Leave a Reply

