Uncategorized

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

St. Louis has been playing at being spring lately, and it’s been driving me bonkers! We have some low lows, ice storms, a little bit of snow, and then it rapidly swings back to almost 70 degree weather. Winter down here doesn’t seem to know the rules of true winter like the north did. It barely gets below freezing these days. But just you wait, winter isn’t over yet!

Bright Winter Days Outfit: A 40s day dress

Even though the shifting weather messes with my internal thermostat, I love these warm days! It’s the constant change that I can’t stand. I took this opportunity to model for you one of my latest finds, which I am in love with.

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

I’ve always considered gingham a classic, the ultimate summer pattern. As such, I was ecstatic to stumble upon this dress for a fabulous price. What’s even better? It fits me perfectly.

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

I was home when it came and  I posted unwrapping it to my instagram story I was so excited! It immediately became what I was wearing that day.

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

The reason that I got it for such a good price was that it had some large brown stains throughout, which appeared to be age related. I wasn’t sure if they’d come out, and was unsure how to try, but they weren’t too noticeable. Then, I spilled spaghetti sauce on it the first day I got it. I was quite sad, but rushed it off to the sink to handwash. Much to my surprise, most of the browning lifted in that first wash, and the dress, frankly, looks fabulous. Can’t even tell now!

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

I love all the details on this dress! It seems to be homemade, and has the sweetest textured buttons. I love that pocket! The design seems to be screenprinted on, then embellished with trim and buttons.

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

I’ve had this purse for a while now, but I knew that I needed to show it off sometime. It is my go-to everyday purse, and it has done a fair job. It is starting to show its wear, which is sad because I searched long and hard for a simple style purse like this that could pass for retro styling. My only complaint that it is a tad bit small for everything that I want to carry in it (oops). That might be a me problem though, rather than the purse!

Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

You’ll have to excuse my wearing this sweater over and over (and over), it’s now my favorite sweater because of its warmth and neutral color. I paired it with this sweet brooch, which has me dreaming of summer days, and a green head scarf to match!

Outfit details:

Vintage 40s Dress: Palepinkvintage on Etsy

50s belt: The Future Antiques

50s Sweater: The Vintage Haberdashery

Socks: Target

Shoes: Zulily

Purse: Sears

Vintage Headscarf, brooch: thrifted

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods? Is winter behaving itself?

3 thoughts on “Bright Days of Winter Outfit: A Forties Day Dress

Leave a Reply

