outfits

A Fifties Outfit: Turquoise Dress and Sweater

So, if you’ve been following along, you’ll find that my favorite decade is by far the 40s. I like the simplicity of it, and the make do and mend attitude. But some aspects of the forties carried on into other decades, including the fifties. I’ll never be someone who rocks a huge skirt, but there are definitely things that I like about the fifties style!

A turquoise fifties dress and sweater

This shirt dress, for one, has fantastic details. And lack of rationing means that it has a full skirt, cute buttons, and details in spades.

Fifties turquoise dress

 

Let me tell you, those buttons? While the placement is interesting, it makes them horrible to actually button. Which is why some of them come unbuttoned easily. Oops.

Closer look at turquoise 50s shirt dress

This is the outfit from my princess coat post that I promised to you!

Fifties outfit with true vintage

Here, as well as that post, I paired it with a 50s orlon sweater. It is the perfect length for me! I’m not a fan of most modern acrylic blends, but this orlon is SO soft and SO warm and not at all itchy as I find wool.

Close up on flower brooch

This was my first attempt at self photography for my outfit photos with my new tripod that I got for Christmas! There is definitely a learning curve. It was nice and warm today, but so windy that I was afraid to put up a tripod outside. So you get pictures of my spare bedroom/sewing room. Perhaps the sewing side will be clean and organized enough to take pictures of. Sorry about the dog cameos! She couldn’t help herself.

Fifties look

This whole outfit besides the shoes is vintage!

Dress, sweater: Vintage Haberdashery

Headscarf, brooch: thrifted

Belt: The Future Antiques

Shoes: JC Penneys (old)

What is your favorite decade to dress up as? To see on others?

 

2 thoughts on “A Fifties Outfit: Turquoise Dress and Sweater

Leave a Reply

