outfits · sewing

Vogue 8811: A Dress for a Wedding

This past week has been so crazy for me! Last weekend I attended a wedding for some high school friends in my home state of Michigan, and I decided that I simply must whip up a dress for the occasion. I’ve had the wedding on my radar for a while, but other things and procrastination got in my way, but even so, I was able to whip up this dress just in time for the trip!

img_1010

This is a size 18 from the 1940 remake Vogue 8811. It is a pretty simple pattern, that comes together pretty nicely, all things considered. I made it from a cotton challis, from Gertie’s spring line from last year at JoAnns. I picked this fabric up during a sale last fall, hoping to someday make it into a dress, and it finally got used! It is a soft pink with miniature poodles and polka dots on it.

img_20160910_201307

I was definitely a good thing that this dress whips up fast, because I let myself get into a time crunch making it! I put the zipper in the night before I left for Michigan, and ended up hemming it in the hotel room the morning of the wedding! The material is very soft and light, probably perfect for a spring or summer dress (oops), but it wrinkles very easily, as you can probably tell.

img_1011

Some things I changed: I left off the breast pocket, since I generally don’t appreciate nonfunctional pockets. I ended up adding a half inch to the bodice seams, because the finished measurements were just a tad bit too small for me. I wasn’t, however, able to add anything to the skirt pattern, because this pattern is made for 45 inch wide fabrics, and the Gertie fabric is regrettably only 42 inches wide! Let’s just say things got a little tight cutting out the half circle skirt. I ended up snipping the stay stitches in the skirt top, which allowed the waistline to stretch on the bias and give me enough room to eat, breathe, and dance, all things that I appreciate doing at a wedding!

img_20160910_201321

I only got a couple of pictures at the wedding, and snuck out another time to take some pictures with actual light so you could see the print. Here’s a bonus picture of me and my sister (yes we’re twins!). That’s me on the left.

img_20160910_181226

5 thoughts on “Vogue 8811: A Dress for a Wedding

Leave a Reply

