Life and Times

Where I’ve Been: An Update

I have no real good excuse for my unexplained absence from the blogosphere. I’ve still been around, reading other people’s blogs and commenting. I just haven’t been able to get any of my own content up. I think a lot of it was that I thought that I “should” get back to posting twice a week, even though I knew I wasn’t ready yet. I was struggling to come up with posts and then making excuses when they didn’t go up on time. So I just quit for a while.

But now I’ve taken a step back, figured out where I went wrong, and have started posting again! Look for updates on Thursdays, and once I get back into a groove (and get some backup posts built up) I’ll start posting twice a week again.

In the mean time, here are some updates! Most notably: We got a dog!

IMG_20160726_132725

She came from the local humane society, so we’re not sure what breed she is, but several people have suggested an Alaskan Husky mix. She’s the sweetest and has been taking up a lot of our time buying her things and getting used to her.

Other big news: My van went to the junkyard in the sky. A week after it failed its safety and emissions inspection and three days after the registration got renewed I experienced catastrophic engine failure while on the highway. It’s since been donated to the Salvation Army and we should be getting a new car in the next week.

My husband went on a business trip for week, leaving us apart for the first time since we got married. We also did VBS the next week, with only one car to boot!

Right now, I’m going through summer finals. But good news! I only have one more class period and a small paper before they mail me my degree and I’m DONE with one of my Masters! I have grad school senioritis in the worst way right now, and am so happy to almost be done.

In actual blog related news, I’ve managed to do some decent thrifting even though I’m sharing a car. I managed to make it to my local Value Village’s half-off sale, which was a blast. The store was packed! I found tons to try on, including something like 10 button down rayon midi skirts in various sizes. I ended up taking a couple home and plan on shortening/hemming them to appropriate 40s lengths.

In sewing news, I haven’t made it too much farther on  my white flowered skirt. One of the fabrics I’m using (the lining or fashion fabric, I don’t know which) is being a big pain in my rear. My machine was skipping stitches all over the place, making me afraid that moving threw the timing off! I managed to get it all gathered down and insert the zipper, but it still needs some hooks and eyes and a hem.

I’m not sure what would be worse at this point: skipped stitches in a double-blind hem, or the pain in my fingers because the fabric is difficult to get a hand sewing needle through. I’ve been putting it off for that very reason.

Well that’s all for now! I hope to see you Thursday with the start of regular updates again!

Leave a Reply

