sewing

Sewing Update

Things are just getting busier and busier around here! One set of classes have wrapped up, but summer classes have begun again for me. On top of that, on the days when I’m not in night class, my husband and I are spending our spare time visiting family before he starts his new job at the end of June.

In all of this time, I haven’t had much chance to sew! But, I do have some things to share with you. There are also some new skills that I’m trying to pick up and get a little more experience before I show you. But here’s what I’ve been up to!

IMG_0906

I was able to take in all of my skirts successfully except for this one! I can now wear them without belts, which makes them soo much more comfortable and versatile. However, this skirt’s pleats come right to the side seams, so I am unable to take it in at this time. I don’t really like how it falls on me, as I think it is the wrong fabric for this pattern, so I’ve decided to find the time to take it apart and use the remaining fabric as I originally intended: a pair of shorts! It’s such a unique fabric, I don’t want to waste it, so I think this is the perfect solution.

IMG_0904

And here is my poor skirt, wasting away in unfinished object purgatory. I got the lining and main fabric cut out, but the waistband still needs to be cut out, and all but one seam of assembling done. I thought that I had more time to work on this than I did. I can’t wait to wear this skirt, but I need to be in the same state as my sewing machine long enough to churn it out!

There you go! Just a little update for you! Are you working on anything? Do you have any unfinished objects?

Leave a Reply

