sewing

A Peplumed Simplicity 1590

I made Simplicity 1590, a 40s reproduction pattern! If I were doing an official vintage pledge this year, that brings me to 3 vintage (reproduction) patterns made just this year! Two Simplicity and one Butterick. This is also  not counting my self-drafted skirts.

I made view A out of a polyester cotton blend oxford blue shirting. I thought that because of the polyester content, it would resist wrinkling, but boy was I wrong! This thing wrinkles if you just look at it! I was sitting for a while before we took these pictures, so that is why everything is wrinkly! Also, I am never ever doing a narrow top-stitched hem again. I made it 6 inches before it looked terrible, so I just ripped it out and catch stitched the hem and the cap sleeves.

Speaking of the cap sleeves, it’s almost impossible to raise my arms in this. Also, if the shoulders are sitting right, the neckline gapes. I do like the peplum though, and I think this fabric has a nice drape to it! You can see the vintage buttons that I had in my stash, originally from an estate sale. You can also see the gloves that I just got from another, more recent estate sale!

Outfit

Blouse: Me-made Simplicity 1590 View A

Skirt: Self-drafted me-made

Boots: Target

Gloves: Estate Sale

Leave a Reply

